Cheating on the plan…already?

A few days ago, I started the Couch-to-5K training plan. I’m a big fan of it, or at least the concept of it, as it makes running accessible to people who don’t run. And it makes recovery easier! This morning, I woke up at the crack of dawn (which is, actually, pretty easy for me to do, with daylight savings time working in my favor). And I ran. And I walked. This repeated for awhile, until my training app told me to cool down. At that point in time, I was just finishing my favorite mixed-path loop around Golden Gate Park, and I knew I had about a mile-ish left, so I continued the run/walk pattern until I was about five mins from home. Maybe this is cheating, but it just feels normal to run/walk for longer than 30 minutes. Also, I feel great! One of these days, when I’m old and frail (or if I get injured again), I might not be able to run anymore. But until that day comes, I vow not to take it for granted.

Leave a Reply

