Rediscovery

I am a creature of habit. When I form a habit, it’s really hard for me to break it, be it getting up at the crack of dawn to run…or eating a certain sweet something at 3pm. I’m obviously not a slave to habit, otherwise I would never have moved in my life, nor would I have picked up new hobbies at any given point in time. But my habits ground me. And I guess, when you’ve moved four times in four years, you need something to ground you.

Running was not a habit I wanted to give up, for any period of time. But I had to push it off to the side for my poor little injured second metatarsal. Not only have I pushed aside running, I put a hold on my climbing gym membership (which, incidentally, was how I spent 2-3 evenings a week, for upwards of 4 hours each evening). It’s now been 3 weeks since my podiatrist’s stress fracture semi-diagnosis, and finally…I’ve broken the habits I so adored. In their place, I have new habits, and even though it was painful to give up the old habits, I’m starting to like the new ones.

Take swimming, for instance. I know how to swim, I enjoy it, and I recognize it is such a good workout. I was resistant to get back in the swimming game at first because it meant I’d have to learn where the pools were, what their schedule was, and how to make it there on time. It’s taken me three weeks, but I’ve finally figured it out, and it’s not that hard to make it to where I need to be. Moving through the water yesterday morning, I realized I’m finally getting the hang of things. I can go for two laps without stopping instead of one. I know that I have a lot to work on with swimming to get to the point where I could go continuously for 30 minutes or so, but it doesn’t stop me from feeling completely relaxed and fundamentally happy after a session. I don’t know if this is because I like swimming or if it is because it is the best exercise available for me right now…but I’ll take it.

I may be a habit-forming person, but habit breaking is just as much fun. I need to remember this when I get stuck in my ways. Life is just too short to schedule in so much and leave no room for discovering (or rediscovering) new things.

Leave a Reply

