Fashionably fractured…to functional (hopefully!)

First, a running update:

My left foot has been bugging me since I ran the half marathon. It acts up after I’ve engaged in weight bearing activities (which are, essentially, the things I do for exercise/stress relief/my social life/you name it: cooking, climbing, hiking and running, for instance). All last week, I tried resting. I tried icing. I tried muscle rubs. And after all of that, my foot still ached at the end of a sedentary workday.

I decided to break down and visit my new bff, the podiatrist.* She made me move my tiny foot muscles. She poked each area of my foot, pulling each individual toe to see if it caused pain. She targeted the problem area (i.e., I was in pain). And then she took an x-ray of it. I learned a lot from that visit. My second metatarsal is bigger than my first. It’s not apparent on visual (like a morton’s toe), but it is obvious when you look on the x-ray. That means, my second metatarsal was doing way too much work while running and could have caused a hairline stress fracture. Inconclusive, because one xray said maybe, the other said nothing, but consistent with my symptoms.

This has all been very frustrating, as you can imagine. I finally figured out that swimming is an amazing low impact/low foot use workout, but I’m going to have to put a hold on my climbing gym membership for a month and NOT GO CLIMBING. OR HIKING. OR RUNNING. It’s good, in a way, to change my routine, but I will really miss those other things. They were such a central part of my life, and I look forward to the time when I can do them again.

*My sports therapy doc visits have definitely increased since I started training. I am not concerned, but I do wish I had better health insurance. I mean, chiropractic is preventative care, people! It should not be a $30 copay/visit. Don’t even get me started on the $60 copay for podiatry. I digress…

Fashion to the rescue!

In the meantime, I’m focusing on other things (like cello, swimming, fashion, etc.). For awhile now, I’ve been wanting to update my wardrobe with classic items that can be worn to work/on dates/at home. However, every time I entered a store, I got intimidated (in general, I feel metaphorically fractured when it comes to accessorizing or even matching items to make outfits). I kept delaying the inevitable shopping trip for various reasons (I’m sure I used the fav excuse: “I don’t have time; too busy running,” or “I’ll probably lose weight from all this running; I should wait until that stabilizes.”). It was time to make a change — after all, it was almost a year since I bought many nice work/date appropriate items at once, and I wasn’t really losing inches drastically, just gaining muscle tone.

This all led to one amazing evening with Raja, a desk warrior turned fashion consultant and painter extraordinaire! In 3.5 hours (ish), we covered many topics…including how not to hide behind baggy clothing, where shirts should fall on the pants, accessories, the every-day blazer, how to incorporate a sleek dress or two…just to name a few. She was gentle and firm, and very encouraging. At the end, I had a brand new wardrobe and a challenge: to spend the next 21 days wearing new clothes. The small print? I am to wear a blazer at least three times a week. And at least one accessory (my choice will generally be a necklace).

After putting everything away in its proper spot (blazers first, then dresses, then shirts, then pants) and moving old clothes to the smaller closet, I glanced over my main closet and felt a bit daunted by the actual item-pairing exercise. Then, I checked my email and found that Raja had laid it all out for the next 7 days. I breathed a deep sigh of relief and selected the items I put on today: skinny jeans, check shirt, black soft blazer, beige shoes. I put on a pearl necklace and a watch, and took a couple of photos (below).

I’ll do the same thing for the next 20 days and maybe this will turn me into a “fashion functional” human. Probably not a better fashion self-photographer, however.

3 thoughts on “Fashionably fractured…to functional (hopefully!)

  1. Pingback: Freezing my shoes | Half Speed Whole Effort

  2. Pingback: Rediscovery | Half Speed Whole Effort

Leave a Reply

