Half speed, slow motion

Very predictably, every year I was in school, I got sick a few days before my first day. I don’t really remember being truly stressed about it, but somehow, my body was stressed.

Today I finished my last short run before the big one (3 miles), and I’m lucky I didn’t fall over. The whole time, it felt as if I was running through soft sand. Looks surmountable and easy enough to pass over, but in reality, feels worse than trudging through 5 inches of mud. It was definitely one of my more sluggish runs. To make matters worse, my throat was on fire. The last time this happened, I ended up with a major chest cold, and stopped running for a week and a half. I only hope that this is one of those “it’s all in my head” sicknesses, and that I’m just going to kick it before it begins. Even if it is in my head, I’m taking all the necessary precautions, including: vitamin C, throat tea, and Zycam. Germs, go away!

Race day is…less than 3 days away. I’m not nervous, but I just want to feel good about it, and feel good while I’m doing it. That’s not too much to ask, is it?

Leave a Reply

