…And I’m back!

Run Time: 41:59
Stopped Time: 0:00
Distance: 3.04 miles
Average: 13:48 /mile
Fastest Pace: 9:59 /mile
Ascent: 94 feet
Descent: 88 feet

Today’s run felt really good. Right as I was about to hit the sizable hill at the beginning of my run, I turned on Pandora, and listened to “Glory” by Ghost. Most people would not think of this as traditional running music, but the pace it sets, the chord progression and the whistling really drives me forward…even as the lyrics are all about “spewing smoke around/And I can’t stop coughing/My lungs just won’t calm down.”

It set the pace for the rest of my run, even after I turned off the music. One of my fears when I signed up for this race was that I can’t complete it. I know that I can run 13.1 miles. I know that I can do it safely if I train properly. I’m not worried about injury during the race itself; I’m just worried about my speed. I’m a slow runner, and I always have been.

From the race website:

“In order to qualify as an Official Finisher, you must finish within a 3 hour course limit. The course has a rolling closure based on the last wave start and based on a 13:45 minute per mile pace. Therefore, you must reach Mile 1 before 13:45 minutes, Mile 2 before 27:30 minutes and so on.”

Today, I would have barely made it. I probably will make it when the time comes. I’ll be building in speedwork in my training (this week, it’s Thursday’s run), and I will be hitting the track, as painful and tedious as it sounds. And what’s the worse that could happen if I don’t make it in time, anyway? I might not receive a finisher’s medal. I might have to run off the route the other runners are running, on the sidewalk. My major accomplishment for this race is going to be to complete it. And I’m OK with that.

Leave a Reply

