Detox, over.

Run Time: 59:36
Stopped Time: 1:09
Distance: 4.01 miles
Average: 14:52 /mile
Fastest Pace: 9:11 /mile
Ascent: 240 feet
Descent: 308 feet

How to fail at detox:

  1. Make a plan, and spend much of the afternoon preparing for it
  2. Eat some kale salad for good measure
  3. Go to a birthday party and eat copious amounts of pizza
  4. Then, drink more than one glass of wine
  5. Finally, when you have gone on your long run the next day, indulge in some very salty Chinese food and finish it off with chocolate pudding

Ok, I admit, I’m not a diet fad person, but I thought I could stick with eating kale, miso and lentil soup all weekend. I’m a relatively healthy person when not vacationing and after all, I was hanging out with Tom, the very good vegan. However, the plan failed miserably (see items 3-5 above). The run today was equally as hard as any of my vacation runs, if not harder. It was also the hottest run I have been on since starting to train — so that could have had something to do with it. In either case, I’m definitely going to be better from here on out. I probably won’t eat kale and lentils every day, but I can at least try harder not to go all out when indulging, and I can stay away from the wine on Saturday nights until after the race.

2 thoughts on “Detox, over.

Leave a Reply

